Laois (Queens Co)

Laois: (Queens Co)

There are three distinct areas in the present Co. Laois, which gave rise to separate 
Kelly septs:-

1. Leghe or Leigh (now Lea). This area corresponds with the present barony of Offaly in Co. Offaly and portion of the barony of Portnahinch in Co. Laois. In this area lay the castle of Lea on the south bank of the River Barrow and it was believed to be the principal residence of O'Kelly Chief of this area.

2. Magh Druchtain was a second territory of the O'Kellys (of separate origin) and was called Feranokelle (meaning the land, or more precisely the men of O'Kelly) now corresponding to the barony of Stradbally.

3. The third group of O'Kellys in this County resided in a territory of Gailine (now Gallen) in the barony of Cullenagh. It extended from Abeyleix to the boundary of Slievemarigue and is marked Gallen in the old map of Leix and Ophaly held in 
Trinity College Dublin.